Meal vouchers

The employer’s contribution to meal vouchers up to a maximum of 8.40 euros is exempt from tax, provided that the employer does not have a canteen and requires from the employee a personal contribution of 2.80 euros.

The tax administration (Administration des Contributions Directes – ACD) has confirmed this week that it is planned to increase the value of meal vouchers from 8.40 euros to 10.80 euros, as part of the current tax reform that should be applicable as from 1st January 2017.

The value of the benefit in kind (i.e. the participation of 2.80 euros of the employee benefiting from meal vouchers) will remain unchanged.

However, the employer will not be obliged to increase its participation to the new maximum amount of 10.80 euros. He may therefore decide to maintain the present value of meal vouchers that are issued.

Examples given by the ADC:

  • Value of the voucher: € 10.80 – Contribution of the employee: € 2.80

The employee’s benefit equal to the difference between 10.80 and 2.80 = 8.00 euros is exempt from tax.

  • Value of the voucher: € 12.00 – Contribution of the employee: € 2.80

The employee’s benefit of 9.20 euros (12.00 – 2.80) is taxable as regards the amount of 1.20 euros (12.00 -10.80) and is exempt from taxation up to 8.00 euros (10.80 – 2.80).

The full text of the ACD Newsletter of 19 December 2016 is available under the following link http://www.impotsdirects.public.lu/.

This topic and many other news as regards wages and other salaries (benefits in kind, taxation of cross-border commuters, VAT of directors, index, etc.) will be discussed at a conference organized by Fedil on 19 January 2017 (in French language). The detailed Save the date is available here.

For further information, do not hesitate to contact your advisors Patricia Hemmen or Marc Kieffer.

Essensgutscheine

Der Beitrag des Arbeitgebers zu Essensgutscheinen bis maximal 8,40 Euro ist von der Steuer befreit, sofern der Arbeitgeber keine Kantine hat und vom Arbeitnehmer einen persönlichen Beitrag von 2,80 Euro verlangt.

Das Steueramt (Administration des Contributes Directes – ACD) hat in dieser Woche bestätigt, dass im Rahmen der derzeitigen Steuerreform die ab dem 1. Januar 2017 gelten soll, geplant ist, den Wert der Essensgutscheine von 8,40 Euro auf 10,80 Euro zu erhöhen.

Der Wert der Sachleistung (d.h. der Arbeitnehmerbeitrag i.H.v. 2,80 Euro) bleibt unverändert.

Der Arbeitgeber ist jedoch nicht verpflichtet, seine Beteiligung bis zum neuen Höchstbetrag von 10,80 Euro zu erhöhen. Er kann daher beschließen, den aktuellen Wert der erstellten Gutscheine beizubehalten.

Beispiele von der ACD:

  • Gutscheinwert: 10,80 € – Beitrag des Mitarbeiters: 2,80 €

Die Leistung des Arbeitnehmers i.H. der Differenz zwischen 10,80 und 2,80 = 8,00 Euro ist steuerfrei.

  • Gutscheinwert: 12,00 € – Beitrag des Mitarbeiters: 2,80 €

Die Leistung des Arbeitnehmers i.H.v. 9,20 Euro (12,00 – 2,80) ist steuerpflichtig i.H.v. 1,20 Euro (12,00 – 10,80) und steuerfrei bis 8,00 Euro (10,80 – 2,80).

Der vollständige Text der ACD-Newsletter vom 19. Dezember 2016 ist unter folgendem Link verfügbar http://www.impotsdirects.public.lu.

Dieses Thema und viele weitere Neuigkeiten in Bezug auf Löhne und Gehälter (Sachleistungen, Besteuerung grenzüberschreitender Pendler, Umsatzsteuer für Verwaltungsratsmitglieder, Index usw.) werden im Rahmen einer Konferenz, die von der Fedil am 19. Januar 2017 (in französischer Sprache) veranstaltet wird, erörtert. Ein detailliertes Save the Date ist hier verfügbar.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihre Berater Patricia Hemmen () oder Marc Kieffer.