The future of telework in the aftermath of the COVID-19 pandemic

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the world of work has been enormous. One obvious impact is that, following the declaration of a state of crisis by the Luxembourg government on 18 March 2020, a considerable number of employees in Luxembourg were forced to telework in order to slow down the spread of the virus. This working formula was often neglected or even refused in many companies in Luxembourg before the health crisis.

Our companies are convinced that telework, even when it is exercised on the basis of free choice, will certainly have advantages and benefits, but also challenges and limits to the organisation of staff and the efficiency of the tasks to be carried out by their employees.

This note does not limit itself to setting out the positive points of telework noted by our companies (reduction in the need for working space, less traffic jams on the roads, less environmental pollution, better work-life balance for the employee, limitation of noise pollution, gains in employee autonomy and responsibility, etc.), but also deals with the points likely to have negative effects on the functioning of companies.

The questioning of a group of members on the subject allowed us to note that the regular practice of telework would also require a change in management style. Thus, efficiency would have to be measured by objectives and no longer by employees’ presenteeism alone. According to the feedback from companies, supervisors should be aware that a change in terms of controlling the tasks performed by the employee is necessary. To this end, the employer should set objectives and clearly communicate expectations and tasks to be performed. Thus, it would be up to the employee to prove that he or she has fulfilled his or her tasks during the telework days. The advantages of a management style which gives more responsibility to certain categories of employees could be exploited beyond the teleworker population.

Companies are unanimous that teleworking employees should have a right to disconnect outside working hours. This would mean that they would not have to be reachable outside working hours.

Whilst being aware of the changing work world and the significant opportunities that telework can present for the company and its employees, who have generally appreciated it, the majority of companies have noted certain limitations to this form of work during the health crisis. Indeed, notwithstanding the fact that the use of telework is likely to be intensified by companies after the health crisis and that it constitutes an important means in the framework of employee loyalty respectively in terms of attracting future employees, several warnings have been brought to our attention by our members, including in particular :

  • telework will not be possible for employees carrying out functions whose nature would require a permanent physical presence in the workplace (e.g. production agent, logistics agent, etc.). The same is true for employees in administrative positions with tasks closely related to the production of the company, respectively those whose functions are so diversified that a concentration on a single task to be carried out by teleworking is not possible.

  • According to our members’ feedback, some of the employees would not be able to work independently (but would need direct supervision from their line manager in order to accomplish their tasks). Whether or not they can work independently depends on the personality of the employee concerned. It turned out that the more autonomous employees who were familiar with their tasks in the company had a rather good command of how to carry out tasks during telework.

  • the transmission of explanations and knowledge would be easier if the parties involved were face-to-face. The importance of human contact between co-workers for the personal and professional development of the employee should not be underestimated. Furthermore, telework constitutes a risk of fragmentation of the company which could lead to a loss of collective intelligence, creativity and the ability to collaborate and co-operate in the long term.

  • A loss of efficiency of a number of employees has been observed as they are no longer directly supervised by a superior. There is a risk that some employees would engage in activities that are not related to their professional activity.

  • The practice of teleworking is more suitable for employees who have been able to familiarise themselves with the workings of the company and the working methods of the service/department to which they belong. The majority of companies were of the opinion that employees should have a thorough knowledge of the internal processes of the company or department before being able to telework.

  • the need for a new legal framework regulating telework has been confirmed by the majority of companies as the agreement on the legal regime of telework of 21 February 2006 no longer corresponds to the needs and expectations of today’s companies and employees.

  • in principle, the employer’s coverage of the costs generated by telework should be limited to what is strictly necessary. However, the provision of computer equipment (hardware, software and access) is recommended (also for cyber security reasons). According to the feedback from our members, it is necessary to keep in mind that telework is primarily a favour granted by the employer to the employee avoiding certain costs (e.g. travel, …) and that the possibility of carrying out telework should be built on the principle of “give and take”.

  • Most companies point out that telework should rather be the exception and the performance of the employee’s tasks on the employer’s premises should remain the rule. In any case, the practice of telework should remain within the limits of reasonableness and avoid disconnection of the employee from his or her work and colleagues.

  • respect for the confidentiality of the company’s internal documents is more difficult to control by the employer, even if the employee has been made aware of the importance of this confidentiality beforehand. It should nevertheless be borne in mind that the leakage of sensitive data and information can, depending on the situation and the stakes involved, represent an enormous cost for the company (e.g. loss of customers, loss of a market, etc.).
  • the risk that accidents, which occur at home in the context of private life, are covered by the Accident Insurance Association (AAA) as accidents at work is high, but the veracity of the origin of the incident is difficult to verify. A high number of accidents at work wrongly covered as such would also have consequences for companies in terms of the AAA’s “bonus-malus” system, which would, if necessary, lead to increased costs for the company.

  • a control of the various aspects of employee safety and health (e.g. workplace ergonomics) at the employee’s home by the employer would prove impossible under the employee’s right to privacy. However, it is in the employer’s interest to make the teleworking employee aware of his or her responsibility in this matter. The employer could make recommendations on workstation ergonomics to all teleworking employees.

Despite the reservations expressed above, the experience of the health crisis has shown that this working formula can present an opportunity that could be better seized if the framework were more favourable. Therefore, FEDIL supports the idea of the promotion of telework of the Luxembourg government.

FEDIL welcomed the agreements reached between Luxembourg and neighbouring countries during the health crisis to derogate from Article 13.1 of Regulation (EC) No 883/2004 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 29 April 2004 on the coordination of social security systems, which stipulates that a person is subject to the legislation of the Member State of residence if he/she pursues a substantial part of his/her activity there. Thus, the days spent teleworking by frontier workers have not been included in the calculation of the tolerance threshold of 25% of the working time carried out in the State of residence. This has enabled teleworking to develop rapidly and without any consequences in terms of social security affiliation for a considerable number of frontier workers. Such agreements would also be necessary after the COVID-19 pandemic in order not to jeopardise a reasonable development of teleworking by frontier workers in Luxembourg and not to discriminate against the latter in comparison with resident workers.

FEDIL encourages the Luxembourg government to also negotiate more favourable tolerance thresholds with neighbouring countries in fiscal matters so as not to jeopardise the healthy and reasonable use of telework for the benefit of frontier workers.

Finally, it is still important that possible flexibilities for employees in the context of telework are not prevented by a rigid straitjacket. They should, as far as possible, take into account the specificities of each company and each sector of activity. Therefore, internal social dialogue should be developed and favoured over general provisions in order to allow companies and their employees to discuss the possibility of using telework according to their specific individual needs.

Die Zukunft der Telearbeit nach der COVID-19-Pandemie

Die Zukunft der Telearbeit nach der COVID-19-Pandemie

Die Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Pandemie auf die Arbeitswelt sind enorm. Eine offensichtliche Auswirkung ist, dass nach der Erklärung des Krisenzustands durch die luxemburgische Regierung am 18. März 2020 eine beträchtliche Anzahl von Beschäftigten in Luxemburg zur Telearbeit gezwungen wurde, um die Ausbreitung des Virus zu verlangsamen. Diese Arbeitsformel wurde in vielen Unternehmen in Luxemburg vor der Gesundheitskrise oft vernachlässigt oder sogar abgelehnt.

Unsere Unternehmen sind davon überzeugt, dass die Telearbeit, auch wenn sie auf der Grundlage der freien Wahl ausgeübt wird, sicherlich Vorteile und Nutzen, aber auch Herausforderungen und Grenzen für die Organisation des Personals und die Effizienz der von den Mitarbeitern zu erledigenden Aufgaben mit sich bringt.

Dieser Vermerk beschränkt sich nicht darauf, die von unseren Unternehmen festgestellten positiven Punkte der Telearbeit aufzuzeigen (geringerer Bedarf an Arbeitsraum, weniger Staus auf den Straßen, weniger Umweltbelastung, bessere Vereinbarkeit von Berufs- und Privatleben für den Arbeitnehmer, Begrenzung der Lärmbelastung, Gewinn an Autonomie und Verantwortung der Arbeitnehmer usw.), sondern geht auch auf Punkte ein, die sich negativ auf die Funktionsweise der Unternehmen auswirken können.

Bei der Befragung einer Gruppe von Mitgliedern zu diesem Thema konnten wir feststellen, dass die regelmäßige Praxis der Telearbeit auch eine Änderung des Führungsstils erfordern würde. Die Effizienz müsste also an den Zielen gemessen werden und nicht nur an der Präsens der Mitarbeiter. Den Rückmeldungen aus den Unternehmen zufolge sollten sich die Vorgesetzten bewusst sein, dass eine Änderung in Bezug auf die Kontrolle der vom Mitarbeiter ausgeführten Aufgaben notwendig ist. Zu diesem Zweck sollte der Arbeitgeber Ziele setzen und die Erwartungen und die zu erfüllenden Aufgaben klar kommunizieren. Es wäre also Sache des Arbeitnehmers, nachzuweisen, dass er seine Aufgaben während der Telearbeitstage erfüllt hat. Die Vorteile eines Führungsstils, der bestimmten Kategorien von Beschäftigten mehr Verantwortung überträgt, könnten auch außerhalb der Telearbeiterschaft genutzt werden.

Die Unternehmen sind sich einig, dass Telearbeitnehmer das Recht haben sollten, außerhalb der Arbeitszeit abschalten zu können. Sie wären also nicht dazu verpflichtet, außerhalb der Arbeitszeit erreichbar zu sein.

Obwohl sie sich der sich verändernden Arbeitswelt und der bedeutenden Möglichkeiten bewusst sind, die die Telearbeit für das Unternehmen und seine Mitarbeiter bieten kann, die sie im Allgemeinen geschätzt haben, hat die Mehrheit der Unternehmen während der Gesundheitskrise gewisse Einschränkungen dieser Arbeitsform festgestellt. Ungeachtet der Tatsache, dass die Nutzung der Telearbeit von den Unternehmen nach der Gesundheitskrise wahrscheinlich noch intensiviert wird und dass sie ein wichtiges Mittel im Rahmen der Mitarbeiterbindung bzw. im Hinblick auf die Anwerbung künftiger Mitarbeiter darstellt, wurden wir von unseren Mitgliedern in der Tat auf mehrere Warnungen aufmerksam gemacht, darunter insbesondere :

  • Telearbeit wird nicht möglich sein für Beschäftigte, die Funktionen ausüben, deren Natur eine ständige physische Anwesenheit am Arbeitsplatz erfordern würde (z.B. Produktionsmitarbeiter, Logistiker usw.). Das Gleiche gilt für Mitarbeiter in Verwaltungspositionen mit Aufgaben, die eng mit der Produktion des Unternehmens verbunden sind bzw. deren Funktionen so diversifiziert sind, dass eine Konzentration auf eine einzige Aufgabe, die durch Telearbeit erledigt werden soll, nicht möglich ist.

  • Den Rückmeldungen unserer Mitglieder zufolge wären einige der Mitarbeiter nicht in der Lage, unabhängig zu arbeiten (sondern bräuchten zur Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben die direkte Aufsicht durch ihren Vorgesetzten). Ob sie unabhängig arbeiten können, hängt von der Persönlichkeit des betreffenden Mitarbeiters ab. Es stellte sich heraus, dass die autonomeren Mitarbeiter, die mit ihren Aufgaben im Unternehmen vertraut waren, recht gut beherrschten, wie sie die Aufgaben bei der Telearbeit erledigen konnten.

  • Die Übermittlung von Erklärungen und Wissen wäre einfacher, wenn die Betroffenen persönlich anwesend wären. Die Bedeutung des menschlichen Kontakts zwischen Mitarbeitern für die persönliche und berufliche Entwicklung des Mitarbeiters sollte nicht unterschätzt werden. Darüber hinaus stellt Telearbeit eine Gefahr der Fragmentierung des Unternehmens dar, die zu einem Verlust der kollektiven Intelligenz, Kreativität und der Fähigkeit zur Zusammenarbeit und Kooperation auf lange Sicht führen könnte.

  • es wurde ein Effizienzverlust bei einer bestimmten Anzahl von Beschäftigten beobachtet, da sie nicht mehr direkt von einem Vorgesetzten beaufsichtigt/überwacht werden. Es besteht ein hohes Risiko, dass einige Mitarbeiter Tätigkeiten ausüben würden, die nicht mit ihrer beruflichen Tätigkeit in Zusammenhang stehen.

  • Die Praxis der Telearbeit eignet sich eher für Mitarbeiter, die sich mit der Arbeitsweise des Unternehmens und den Arbeitsmethoden der Dienststelle/Abteilung, zu der sie gehören, vertraut machen konnten. Die Mehrheit der Unternehmen vertrat die Auffassung, dass die Mitarbeiter gründliche Kenntnisse über die internen Prozesse des Unternehmens oder der Abteilung haben sollten, bevor sie Telearbeit leisten können.

  • Die Notwendigkeit eines neuen Rechtsrahmens zur Regelung der Telearbeit wurde von der Mehrheit der Unternehmen bestätigt, da die Vereinbarung über die rechtliche Regelung der Telearbeit vom 21. Februar 2006 nicht mehr den Bedürfnissen und Erwartungen der heutigen Unternehmen und Arbeitnehmer entspricht.

  • Grundsätzlich sollte die Übernahme der durch Telearbeit entstehenden Kosten durch den Arbeitgeber auf das unbedingt notwendige Maß beschränkt werden. Die Bereitstellung von Computerausrüstung (Hardware, Software und Zugang) wird jedoch empfohlen (auch aus Gründen der Cybersicherheit). Nach den Rückmeldungen unserer Mitglieder ist zu bedenken, dass Telearbeit in erster Linie eine Gunst ist, die der Arbeitgeber dem Arbeitnehmer gewährt, um bestimmte Kosten (z.B. Reisekosten, …) zu vermeiden, und dass die Möglichkeit der Durchführung von Telearbeit auf dem Prinzip des „Gebens und Nehmens“ aufgebaut werden sollte.
  • Die meisten Unternehmen berichten, dass Telearbeit eher die Ausnahme sein sollte und die Erfüllung der Aufgaben des Arbeitnehmers in den Räumlichkeiten des Arbeitgebers die Regel bleiben sollte. In jedem Fall sollte die Praxis der Telearbeit innerhalb der Grenzen der Zumutbarkeit bleiben und eine Trennung des Arbeitnehmers von seiner Arbeit und seinen Kollegen vermeiden.

  • Die Einhaltung der Vertraulichkeit unternehmensinterner Dokumente ist für den Arbeitgeber schwieriger zu kontrollieren, selbst wenn der Arbeitnehmer zuvor auf die Bedeutung dieser Vertraulichkeit hingewiesen wurde. Es ist jedoch zu bedenken, dass das Durchsickern von sensiblen Daten und Informationen je nach Situation und Einsatz enorme Kosten für das Unternehmen bedeuten kann (z.B. Verlust von Kunden, Verlust eines Marktes usw.).

  • das Risiko, dass Unfälle, die sich zu Hause im Rahmen des Privatlebens ereignen, von der Unfallversicherung (AAA) gedeckt werden, da Arbeitsunfälle zwar hoch sind, der Wahrheitsgehalt des Unfallhergangs aber schwer zu überprüfen ist. Eine hohe Zahl von Arbeitsunfällen, die fälschlicherweise als solche gedeckt sind, hätte auch Folgen für die Unternehmen im Sinne des „Bonus-Malus“-Systems der AAA, was gegebenenfalls zu erhöhten Kosten für das Unternehmen führen würde.

  • eine Kontrolle der verschiedenen Aspekte der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes der Arbeitnehmer (z.B. Ergonomie am Arbeitsplatz) am Wohnort des Arbeitnehmers durch den Arbeitgeber würde sich im Rahmen des Rechts des Arbeitnehmers auf Privatsphäre als unmöglich erweisen. Es liegt jedoch im Interesse des Arbeitgebers, den telearbeitenden Arbeitnehmer auf seine Verantwortung in dieser Angelegenheit aufmerksam zu machen. Der Arbeitgeber könnte allen Telearbeitern Empfehlungen zur Ergonomie des Arbeitsplatzes geben.

Trotz der oben genannten Vorbehalte hat die Erfahrung der Gesundheitskrise gezeigt, dass diese Arbeitsvereinbarung eine Chance darstellen kann, die besser genutzt werden könnte, wenn die Leitung günstiger wäre. Daher unterstützt die FEDIL die Idee der luxemburgischen Regierung, die Telearbeit zu fördern.

Die FEDIL begrüßte die zwischen Luxemburg und den Nachbarländern während der Gesundheitskrise getroffenen Vereinbarungen, von Artikel 13.1 der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 883/2004 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 29. April 2004 zur Koordinierung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit abzuweichen, der besagt, dass eine Person den Rechtsvorschriften des Wohnmitgliedstaates unterliegt, wenn sie dort einen wesentlichen Teil ihrer Tätigkeit ausübt. So wurden die von Grenzgängern geleisteten Telearbeitstage bei der Berechnung der Toleranzschwelle von 25% der im Wohnsitzstaat geleisteten Arbeitszeit nicht berücksichtigt. Dadurch konnte sich die Telearbeit rasch und ohne Folgen für die Sozialversicherungszugehörigkeit einer beträchtlichen Zahl von Grenzgängern entwickeln. Solche Vereinbarungen wären auch nach der COVID-19-Pandemie notwendig, um eine vernünftige Entwicklung der Telearbeit von Grenzgängern in Luxemburg nicht zu gefährden und diese gegenüber den ansässigen Arbeitnehmern nicht zu diskriminieren.

Die FEDIL ermutigt die luxemburgische Regierung, auch in Steuerfragen mit den Nachbarländern günstigere Toleranzschwellen auszuhandeln, um die gesunde und vernünftige Nutzung der Telearbeit zugunsten der Grenzgänger nicht zu gefährden.

Schließlich ist es nach wie vor wichtig, dass mögliche Flexibilitäten für die Beschäftigten im Rahmen der Telearbeit nicht durch eine starre Zwangsjacke verhindert werden. Sie sollten so weit wie möglich die Besonderheiten jedes Unternehmens und jedes Tätigkeitsbereichs berücksichtigen. Daher sollte der interne soziale Dialog entwickelt und allgemeinen Bestimmungen vorgezogen werden, um es Unternehmen und ihren Mitarbeitern zu ermöglichen, die Möglichkeit der Nutzung von Telearbeit entsprechend ihren spezifischen individuellen Bedürfnissen zu diskutieren.