SITC – Security Industry Training Center

In many professions nowadays, there is more and more talk about the digital transformation or the digital turnaround. The surveillance and security sector is no exception. It also has to adapt to new standards. To this end, the organisation SITC (in the form of a non-profit organisation) was founded in January 2020 by FEDIL Security Services, FEDIL, The Voice of Luxembourg’s Industry and the “Mouvement Luxembourgeois pour la Qualité et l’Excellence”. The sector of guarding and security services includes 19 companies licensed in Luxembourg1, providing the following services:

  • the monitoring of mobile and immobile goods;
  • the management of alarm centres;
  • the transport of cash or/and valuables
  • the protection of persons.

The collective agreement signed between the security services of FEDIL and the social partners is the starting point for the establishment of this body. It enables the increased professional demands of the security sector to be met. The financing of the SITC is fixed by the sectoral collective agreement2 declared to be a general obligation by Grand-Ducal regulation of 4 December 2019 (http://data.legilux.public.lu/file/eli-etat-leg-rgd-2019-12-04-a841-jo-fr-pdf.pdf) introducing a obligatory contribution (1% of the wage bill) for each surveillance and security company approved in the Grand Duchy.

Development and professional valorisation of the sector

The SITC was set up to design, compile and organise a whole range of training courses for the 3,600 security officers in Luxembourg. The aim is to establish a high national standard of professional competence. Thanks to this initiative, security officers can benefit from greater versatility and employability, they contribute to the upgrading of the company and the sector in general.

Due to the internationalization of Luxembourg and the ever-increasing security measures, the need for personal and relational (“soft skills”) as well as technological skills is constantly increasing.

Today, due to terrorist threats, this no longer concerns only public institutions, but also private sectors (banks, hotels, department stores, companies, etc.).

List of training courses (not complete):

  • the reception area (in several languages)
  • the X-Ray controls
  • computer science
  • the know-how in technological equipment
  • the fire safety
  • first aid
  • the conflict management
  • current regulations

Organisation of the training courses

The training courses have been taking place since the beginning of March 2020 at the LUXAIR Cargo Center, which has the necessary infrastructure and some of the coaches capable of offering the above courses. Other training providers will be added in the near future to expand the range of training courses on offer.

The “Centre de Compétences” is an important partner of SITC. It manages the registration and planning of training courses in collaboration with the concerned companies.

The courses can last between 4 hours and 15 days. A regular development of the training courses already offered is also planned, in order to ensure a continuous adaptation to the market requirements.

Highly qualified, motivated and well-trained employees will be able to carry out the security assignments entrusted to them by private individuals, companies and authorities without any problems. A country like Luxembourg, which is booming economically, needs a highly professional surveillance and security sector to meet the requirements of an increasingly complex and secure world.

SITC – Security Industry Training Center

In vielen Berufssparten wird heute immer mehr über die digitale Transformation oder die digitale Wende gesprochen. Der Überwachungs- und Sicherheitssektor bildet hier keine Ausnahme. Auch er muss sich an neue Standards anpassen. Zu diesem Zweck wurde im Januar 2020 die Organisation SITC (in Form einer gemeinnützigen Organisation) von den FEDIL Security Services der FEDIL, The Voice of Luxembourg’s Industry und dem „Mouvement Luxembourgeois pour la Qualité et l’Excellence“ gegründet. Der Sektor der Bewachungs- und Sicherheitsdienste umfasst 19 in Luxemburg zugelassene private Sicherheits- und Überwachungsunternehmen1 und beinhaltet folgende Aktivitäten:

  • die Überwachung von mobilen und immobilen Gütern;
  • die Verwaltung von Alarmzentralen;
  • den Transport von Bargeld sowie Wertsachen
  • den Schutz von Personen.

Der zwischen den Sicherheitsdiensten der FEDIL und den Sozialpartnern unterzeichnete Tarifvertrag ist der Ausgangspunkt für die Einrichtung dieses Organs. Es ermöglicht, den gestiegenen beruflichen Anforderungen des Sicherheitssektors gerecht zu werden. Die Finanzierung des SITC wird durch den Branchentarifvertrag2 festgelegt, der durch die großherzogliche Verordnung vom 4. Dezember 2019 (http://data.legilux.public.lu/file/eli-etat-leg-rgd-2019-12-04-a841-jo-fr-pdf.pdf) zu einer allgemeinen Verpflichtung erklärt wurde und einen Pflichtbeitrag (1% der Lohnsumme) für jedes im Großherzogtum zugelassene Überwachungs- und Sicherheitsunternehmen einführt.

Entwicklung und berufliche Valorisierung des Sektors 

Der SITC wurde gegründet, um eine ganze Reihe an Ausbildungskursen für die 3.600 Sicherheitsbeamten im Großherzogtum zu konzipieren. Ziel ist es, einen hohen nationalen Standard beruflicher Kompetenzen zu etablieren. Dank dieser Initiative können die Sicherheitsbeamten von einer größeren Vielseitigkeit und Beschäftigungsfähigkeit profitieren und zur Aufwertung des Unternehmens und des Sektors im Allgemeinen beitragen. Aufgrund der Internationalisierung Luxemburgs und der immer weiter zunehmenden Sicherheitsprioritäten steigt der Bedarf an persönlichen und relationalen („soft skills“) sowie technologischen Fähigkeiten ständig.

Dies betrifft heute, aufgrund terroristischer Bedrohungen nicht mehr nur öffentliche Einrichtungen, sondern auch private Bereiche (Banken, Hotels, Kaufhäuser, Unternehmen usw.).

Liste der Ausbildungskurse (nicht vollständig):

  • den Empfangsbereich (in mehreren Sprachen)
  • die X-Ray-Kontrolle
  • die Informatik
  • das Know-how in Sachen technologische Ausrüstung
  • die Brandsicherheit
  • Erste Hilfe
  • das Konfliktmanagement
  • geltende Vorschriften

Organisation der Ausbildungskurse

Die Ausbildungskurse finden seit Anfang März 2020 im LUXAIR Cargo Center am Flughafen Luxemburg statt, der über die notwendige Infrastruktur und einige der Ausbilder verfügt, die in der Lage sind, die oben genannten Kurse anzubieten. Weitere Ausbildungsanbieter werden in naher Zukunft hinzukommen und das Angebot an Ausbildungskursen erweitern.

Das „Centre de Compétences“ ist ein wichtiger Partner des SITC. Es verwaltet die Anmeldungen und die Planung der Ausbildungskurse in Zusammenarbeit mit den betroffenen Unternehmen.

Die Kurse können zwischen 4 Stunden und 15 Tagen dauern. In Planung ist auch, eine regelmäßige Weiterentwicklung der bereits angebotenen Ausbildungskurse, um somit eine kontinuierliche Anpassung an die Marktanforderungen zu gewährleisten.

Hochqualifizierte, motivierte und gut ausgebildete Mitarbeiter werden die ihnen von Privatpersonen, Unternehmen und Behörden anvertrauten Sicherheitsaufträge problemlos ausführen können. Ein Land wie Luxemburg, das wirtschaftlich boomt, braucht einen hochprofessionellen Überwachungs- und Sicherheitssektor, um den Anforderungen einer immer komplexeren und sichereren Welt gerecht werden zu können.