Meal vouchers

The employer’s contribution to meal vouchers up to a maximum of 8.40 euros is exempt from tax, provided that the employer does not have a canteen and requires from the employee a personal contribution of 2.80 euros.

The tax administration (Administration des Contributions Directes – ACD) has confirmed this week that it is planned to increase the value of meal vouchers from 8.40 euros to 10.80 euros, as part of the current tax reform that should be applicable as from 1st January 2017.

The value of the benefit in kind (i.e. the participation of 2.80 euros of the employee benefiting from meal vouchers) will remain unchanged.

However, the employer will not be obliged to increase its participation to the new maximum amount of 10.80 euros. He may therefore decide to maintain the present value of meal vouchers that are issued.

Examples given by the ADC:

  • Value of the voucher: € 10.80 – Contribution of the employee: € 2.80

The employee’s benefit equal to the difference between 10.80 and 2.80 = 8.00 euros is exempt from tax.

  • Value of the voucher: € 12.00 – Contribution of the employee: € 2.80

The employee’s benefit of 9.20 euros (12.00 – 2.80) is taxable as regards the amount of 1.20 euros (12.00 -10.80) and is exempt from taxation up to 8.00 euros (10.80 – 2.80).

The full text of the ACD Newsletter of 19 December 2016 is available under the following link http://www.impotsdirects.public.lu/.

This topic and many other news as regards wages and other salaries (benefits in kind, taxation of cross-border commuters, VAT of directors, index, etc.) will be discussed at a conference organized by Fedil on 19 January 2017 (in French language). The detailed Save the date is available here.

For further information, do not hesitate to contact your advisors Patricia Hemmen or Marc Kieffer.

Chèques-repas

La contribution de l’employeur aux chèques-repas d’une valeur de 8,40 euros au maximum bénéficie d’une exemption fiscale, à condition que l’employeur ne dispose pas d’une cantine d’entreprise et qu’il demande au salarié une contribution personnelle de 2,80 euros.

L’Administration des Contributions Directes (ACD) vient de confirmer cette semaine qu’il est prévu d’augmenter, dans le cadre de la réforme fiscale dont l’entrée en vigueur est annoncée pour le 1erjanvier 2017, la valeur des chèques-repas de 8,40 euros à 10,80 euros.

La valeur de l’avantage en nature (càd. la participation de 2,80 euros du salarié bénéficiant de chèques-repas) restera cependant inchangée.

L’employeur ne sera néanmoins pas obligé d’augmenter sa participation jusqu’à atteindre le nouveau montant maximum de 10,80 €. Il pourra donc décider de maintenir les chèques-repas à leur valeur actuelle.

Exemples donnés par l’ACD :

  • Valeur du chèque: 10,80 € – Contribution du salarié: 2,80 €

L’avantage du salarié à hauteur de la différence entre 10,80 et 2,80 = 8,00 euros est exempt d’impôt.

  • Valeur du chèque: 12,00 € – Contribution du salarié: 2,80 €

L’avantage du salarié à hauteur de 9,20 euros (12,00 – 2,80) est imposable à hauteur de 1,20 euros (12,00 – 10,80) et exempt à hauteur de 8,00 euros (10,80 – 2,80).

Le texte intégral de la Newsletter de l’ACD du 19 décembre 2016 est disponible au lien suivant sur http://www.impotsdirects.public.lu.

Ce sujet et bien d’autres nouveautés en matière de salaires et autres rémunérations du travail (avantages en nature, imposition des salariés frontaliers, cessions et saisies, TVA des administrateurs, indice, RMG etc.) seront abordés lors d’une conférence organisée par le Fedil le 19 janvier 2017. Le Save the date détaillé est disponible ici.

Pour des renseignements complémentaires, n’hésitez pas à contacter vos conseillers Patricia Hemmen ou Marc Kieffer.